Common Sense from a Common Man


The Power of Community
April 6, 2009, 7:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

stocktwits125x1253

People talk about community all the time.  There were ninety-four discrete definitions of the term by the mid-1950s.  How can this be?  How can a community mean so many different things to so many different people?  I’ll tell you why – because a community isn’t defined by words, it’s defined by the very people who make up that community.

I’m very priviliged to witness the power of a community from both an online and real world vantage point.  I joined StockTwits a couple of months ago after having seen it mentioned on Twitter.  This weekend I had the immense pleasure of attending LindzonPalooza.  No, LindzonPalooza is not a free pancake with berries breakfast at IKEA. Those berries are Lingon berries; but I digress.

StockTwits was founded by two very smart peeps, Howard Lindzon and Soren Macbeth.  StockTwits is a fantastic community on the web that, in their words,  is an open, community-powered investment idea and information service.  It’s grown incredibly fast to over 30,000 members in just a short few months.

What’s more incredible than the growth?  Easy – the members of StockTwits.  They range from the professionals to the people who are just starting.  I, myself do not trade yet but I am a member because the wealth of information, learning, and sharing that I can get from one single place translates into a Stockmosis© of knowledge.  In other words I learn just by showing up and then learn even more by engaging. I could devote a very long piece to the StockTwits community online but I won’t because you should just get on if you’re even half interested in the markets.  I would be remiss if I didn’t give huge props to the Director of StockTwits, Phil Pearlman, who has done an amazing job with the gargantuan growth in the community and the many other contributions he has selflessly made.

As I mentioned, I had the extreme pleasure of attending LindzonPalooza this past weekend.  This is what did it for me in really experiencing the true power of a community.  Most of the StockTwits who attended, hadn’t ever met each other in person.  The only communication most of us have had with each other is through the StockTwits site.  Here’s where the true power of community showed itself – It was like all of us had known each other for a very long time.

We talked about stocks and all things StockTwits of course.  What was so rewarding for me was the ability to go beyond that.  We took the online world of StockTwits and used that to deepen the real life connections between the members.  There was talk about families, places that we lived, political views, sports, health, and the list goes on.

The people I met there were amazing! Every one of them.  I was truly enriched by all and through all there. I know I made some great friends there and I hope I had the opportunity to at least add a little value to the experience of others.

The true power of any community is demonstrated through the value created for the individual, whether digital or real life.  I can safely say that StockTwits has delivered on that in spades for both.

In honor of Howard, Soren, & Phil and all the members there – I’m long on StockTwits $$.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

